Taylor, My Self

Taylor, My Self
Smash

So, I listened to the new Taylor Swift this week and...I don't know, man. Definitely a few good ones but... shrug emoji. Did it give me some gossip? Yes. Did it need to come out so soon after Cowboy Carter which it might be unfairly but likely compared to? Maybe others won't think of it that way but it does feel like the 'ole patriarchy tends to pit women, especially successful ones, against each other.

I'll say for me, a moderate Taylor fan and Beyoncé churchgoer, the back to back album drops brought into stark relief how different the current top two superstars in music are in practice. Both are worthy of respect - they have insane work ethics and produce an awe-inspiring amount of material. I think Taylor is, no question, an incredible songwriter. But she seems stuck in this coy, look-at-me-don't-look-at-me vibe and I don't think it's serving her well. I think she'll land permanently on the wrong side of uninteresting if she keeps playing it so safe. And I hope she doesn't.

And, listen, I don't think artists need to necessarily or consistently reinvent themselves (Cathy Horyn has an interesting take on Taylor's wardrobe this week.). Plus, obviously, female artists are under exponential pressure to be hot and relevant constantly. But IDK, this is a double album that really didn't need to be and overall it still feels like I'm reading a college kid's poetry. Loved to hear some of the BTS of the Matty Healy thing but I guess what I'm saying is up until this week, I didn't feel too old for Taylor Swift.

Becks, please tell me we're still friends.

Watching, Reading, Listening
Bette and I are firmly in our Ghibli era and I'm relishing it. We finished Spirited Away in 20 minute spurts throughout the week and Friday sat and watched the whole of The Secret World of Arrietty. We started Up on Poppy Hill last night. I'm dying to watch Howl's Moving Castle but Bette isn't. Curses, magic, hot bird wizards? What's not to like??? On my own, I started the Tourist and it seems promising.
Finally finished Brother of the More Famous Jack and it definitely got better in the last third. Would the 1982 humor pass 2024 scrutiny? No. I definitely clutched my pearls at the few casual rape jokes. This weekend I read all of How to End a Love Story and it was the best romance I've read in a while. Like Emily Henry but maybe better? I SAID IT. Plus the woman who wrote it is adapting Emily's books into films so...worlds collide.

Lifting
It's wild to me how balance and distribution affects so much. For example, a squat with a standard barbell weighing 40 lbs is something I could do repeatedly with ease and even, perhaps, enjoy. However, a goblet squat with a 40 lbs dumbell, spurs me to make extremely embarrassing noises as I crank out meager amounts of reps.

Ingesting
You know when something just hits at the right time? I had an everything bagel with tomato and scallion cream cheese alongside a Diet Coke and it was the absolute most perfect post-gym meal for that moment. I wish that for you, dear reader. Additionally, my colleague Krystal regularly brings in a dozen Dunkin Donuts for us at the office and after a long absence, my favorite returned to the mix this week. Is this even a donut? I don't care. I just know that the chocolate cream version is my favorite of all time and if you don't like that you can just go ahead and UNSUBSCRIBE. 100 mg sertraline (for all the fucking good it's doing), a lot of supplements and now, ironically, birth control pills as an easy, early hormone therapy intervention for my lady nerves.

Struggling
As a powdered doughnut fan who consistently wears all black.

Buying
Hair dye, a few more books from Taylor & Co., a ticket to Montreal!

Creating
New piles of clean, unfolded laundry

Fixating
On the upcoming warmer weather and how to survive/thrive in a season that is just not my favorite.

Avoiding
Baby fever after Bette and I spent a lovely weekend afternoon basking in the adorable aura of Ayo, our friend Bim's 18 month old.

Reader, I Pinned It
Fun bathroom fixtures as a way of combatting my compulsive need to change everything around me all the time, this may be the year I finally get myself a nugget ice machine, sweet sheets.